A Marvelous Shire…I mean, show!

The Hobbit opened last night and has its last run tonight at the middle school. šŸ˜€ I’m so proud of those kids! My co op basically lost 2 weeks of rehearsal time with them between hurricane Sandy (I, personally, was without power for 6 freezing cold days) and with scheduling the show before the holidays. I’m so glad I was able to help out here and there, and it really warmed my heart to see the show come together and to see so many of my students approaching me to say hello. I realized that a LOT of those students were my kids. I had about 85 kids first quarter, and another 90 this quarter! Didn’t realize I could learn so many names! My boyfriend agreed to come with me, a shock that he would sit through a middle school show when he isn’t the most partial to young children. Haha! Even he said it was good and he was especially impressed by one of my students playing Gollum. Wow! He was good! And I got to introduce him to some of my kiddies, especially the boy who looks like our friend. Literally he’s like this guy’s middle school doppelganger. Freaky!

Also got to hear my voice doing the curtain speech. Oh lordy. Haha! It was a last minute thing my co op needed done and asked if I wanted to. Sure. I’m happy to help however I can. I just hate the sound of my voice. I guess it was a complement when Ryan said, “That doesn’t sound like you.” I turned on my big girl voice for my moment in the spotlight. šŸ˜‰

So the show was great. I got to show Ryan where I’ve basically been living the last three months. I got to be part of such a great experience and a wonderful performance. My co op is a little less stressed now. Everything was wonderful. I love a happy ending. šŸ˜€

(Speaking of happy endings, I’m graduating in 20 days. Whoa. Lots to do, but it’s getting done!)

Leave a Reply

