New Recipe Challenge (and recipe 2.1)

I’m excited to test my recipe limits again with a new recipe challenge for myself. It also gives me another reason to photo journal. Woo!

So here’s the run down. Challenge #1 was 5 primal recipes + 1 primal dessert. The stipulation was that after successfully following 5 meal recipes, I would earn a primal dessert recipe to attempt.

What actually happened? I successfully made the 5 recipes, much to my pride and excitement, and then chose my primal dessert. Turns out the dessert wasn’t all I dreamed it would be. I guess sugar/sugar substitute is actually pretty important to making a sweet tasting cheesecake. I found some simpler cookie recipes to try, but those didn’t turn out so nicely either because I was trying to leave out the honey. I did discover how to make primal granola! 😀  But the attempt was made. I’m fine with that. I kinda enjoyed the cheesecake, but mostly because I like the taste of cream cheese…and that’s what my cheesecake tasted like. Real recipe credit to http://www.paleospirit.com

Almond meal crust goes into the freezer to chill
Almond meal crust goes into the freezer to chill
I replaced anything involving the cocoa powder with strawberries, naturally sweet treats!
I replaced anything involving the cocoa powder with strawberries, naturally sweet treats!
Blend everything and mix it all up!
Blend everything and mix it all up!
Bake to cream cheesey perfection! ...really it should've just been spread on a bagel somewhere...not that I condone bagels.
Bake to cream cheesey perfection! …really it should’ve just been spread on a bagel somewhere…not that I condone bagels.

Challenge #2 will be 10 primal recipes + 1 primal dessert. The stipulation, I will make the dessert early on, but I need to stay strict to the primal diet during the challenge…and really til July cos that’s when I plan on splurging next. Yeeeeeaaaaah! Play On Con!! So until then, I am gonna fight these mental battles with every ounce of will power in my topsy-turvy mind. I’m hoping this positive affirmation will lead to more positivity in the rest of my life. Namaste.

…okay, okay! I admit that the dessert early is for a specific reason. I’ll tell you about it when it passes. Til then, let’s just say…hmmm…what’s a good excuse? Oh! Let’s say the dessert early is because I didn’t actually successfully complete the primal dessert from challenge #1. There we go. 🙂

So let’s get started! Recipe 2.1 (challenge #2; recipe 1): Meat Crust Quiche…which really turned into a meaty egg cake  thing. Still yummy! Recipe credit to Julie at http://www.paleOMG.com

The recipe called for potatoes. I just added more meat. :)
The recipe called for potatoes. I just added more meat. 🙂
Leave a Reply

