High Intensity Interval Training – How Brenna is gonna get bikini ready!

I was in a funk today and last night. Didn’t want to be and fought hard against it, but some things are unavoidable. Like feelings. Got punched right in the feels with my own fist. Then I found something to cheer me up. At least a bit. (Have I mentioned I’m moving to Georgia next week? [ >__<;;] ALL THE FEELS!)

The last 4 months I’ve been doing my best to fight cravings and conquer my own will. It has not been easy and there have been many hidden tears over bumps and hills in the road. Curse having the freedom to choose! But just by changing my diet alone from SAD to Grok’ing rad, I dropped from a size 12 to a size 8. We’ve been over this already in a previous post. 🙂

The next step I’ve been working on with my brother is the movement. We started taking walks through town for an hour and a half or more. Occasionally we’ll take shorter, energizing 25-30 minute walks. Soon I’m definitely stepping things up. I’m all the more inspired after reading another wonderful article from Mark’s Daily Apple blog. I skipped the second question cos I was more interested in the first and third. I’d been asking about gluten-free products for a while now. So here are my thoughts on what I read if you wanna know where that linky-doo is taking you without actually following said linky-doo.

1. High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) is 30 seconds, 4 reps, 3x a week. That’s SIX MINUTES of exercise each week! Then you add to it by walking slowly and playing with your friends outside. I had this conversation with a friend of mine who had to change his diet for health reasons and he started exercising more. I was mistaken in thinking that HIIT was actually really better for him to do. It’s not that it’s better than a 45-60 minute workout. It’s just so much more time efficient! It’s going to hurt like hell because you seriously have to go ALL OUT for those 30 seconds, and I’m going to take it slow at first with fewer reps to start, but I can’t wait to get to it! I’m still eyeing the bikini for this summer. 😉 3 months til POC!!

2. Bring on the gluten-free pizza treat! I know there are a few restaurants with gluten-free options near where I hope my apartment will be. There’s also a Krogers near there so I’m bound to find the frozen section and the baked goods section where gluten-free will be an option. To supplement the lack of anything nutritious in the crust, I’m gonna save it for special occasions so I can top it with Rao’s marinara sauce, some grass fed ground beef or steak, fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, mushrooms, onions, black olives, and something green. It’s gonna be LEGEND…

…DARY! …but with as little dairy as I can because it’s moderated. Teehee.

So that certainly cheered me up a bit more. Walking with someone who listens to you as you talk is also a great way to cheer yourself up from a pretty bad funk. My brother rocks. Totally buzizzlin’! I need to get back to sorting out my life. Pardon me.

One thought on “High Intensity Interval Training – How Brenna is gonna get bikini ready!

  1. love doing HIIT! It’s such a good workout and I believe that by doing such high intensity, your body actually burns more calories even after you’re done working out..bonus! 🙂

Leave a Reply

