Brenna’s Adventures in BigGirl-Land: Numbers Give Me Feels

Budgets.

…that could be the end of the post right there. Seriously.

I spent the last few days of June trying to remember this expense and that card swipe. I asked for receipts for a reason and then didn’t go through with the reason. I tried working on my budget, but then forgot the little shopping or dining out expenses. They add up, mind you. Well, thinking it would make me an especially big girl (despite my shrinking waist! πŸ˜‰ ) I decided to start tallying up the last few expenses, which were POC related, and put them over into July’s budget since that is when I’ll get my next paycheck. My next…pitiful…paycheck… (“Dionysus is powerful and wise. Praise to him.”) So the budget month will go by received paychecks on Thursdays. I’ll be fine once Every Tongue Confess opens at Horizon next week and I’m back in the groove.

I quickly realized as I held on to receipts and put them into my budget spreadsheet in Excel that sticking to a budget is very important, especially when you are lacking in a full time job and it seems very unlikely you’ll get one. You see, the summer jobs seem to have filled up with all the little high school kiddies. There’s no room for an overqualified licensed teacher such as myself to take people’s orders at Panda Express. No, that wasn’t my top choice, but I’m not one to quickly snub a job anymore. Still won’t work for McDonald’s or Burger King. Purely principle.

There will reach a point where I’ll have to tell my employer, “I’d be happy to work for you! I’m an excellent candidate! But just so you know, I’m only here until May and then I’m moving to NJ.” Once autumn rolls around, I don’t think employers will be thrilled to hear that they’ll have to go through the hiring process just a few short months later.

Even though I won’t be making much in July and will be spending more (totally worth it!), I checked the numbers and I’m still in a good way. It goes to show that when it comes down to it, you have choices. Choices are wonderful! It was my choice to buy some prop supplies for POC. It was my choice to buy a bikini and to throw in an inexpensive cute skirt along with the order. It was my choice to move to Georgia and live off of bare essentials with the occasional treat. I felt so good this morning putting back the Lara Bars I wanted but didn’t need (DID I MENTION I DISCOVERED LARA BARS!? THE GREATEST BARS EVER!?), and the yogurt and cereal I didn’t need and the almond milk and coconut milk I didn’t need. So when I’m in a position to choose things I WANT, I’ll know I’ve really earned it, full time job be damned! I got through my first day of Saturday solo Day Box! I will make this job at the theatre work! I love it! In fact, I think I’m going to see the preview of ETC tonight…and pick up my phone charger I left at the theatre…and maybe snag a cookie. πŸ˜‰

…boy oh boy do I want some more Lara Bars. Oh, and the option is still on the table if you want to buy me Paleo Treats, Caveman Cookies, or PaleoKrunch items for my birthday, August 5, or any occasion. Please don’t get me GF only desserts as I do not eat grain or soy in general. (“But Brenna, didn’t you just say you were going to snag–?” “Shut your face! Choices!”) I happily accept gifts into my budget. πŸ™‚

By the way, SIXTEEN DAYS!! ❀

Leave a Reply

