On Today’s Menu: July 13, 2013

I loved starting my day at the Farmers Market so much, I decided to do it again! I got a little too excited about spending a little extra time at work that I figured I could grab a couple treat items at a bargain. Nothing but the coconut milk was more than $2! Also I changed my mind about an IF day. I’d rather fortify my body to recover than make it think I had a feast of sweets one day and a famine that could wipe out my grok family the next day.

Using the ingredients I originally went to the market for I managed to make the next new recipe in my Primal Challenge #2! It’s been so long since I could play with my food. It turned out great too! Could use more heat. Yes. Brenna said it could use more heat. And I managed to make it (and nom the heck out of it!) with plenty of time before having to leave for work. Today is a good day.

I decided to make a quick batch of yogurt before running off to work. I know it’s more fructose but I want to keep my gut bacteria healthy too. Best idea I could’ve made because I got to try out my new secret weapon. STEVIA! …No, not that crappy artificial sweetener romping around under false pretenses. I’m talking about the real deal stevia plant extract! The stuff that is literally 100x sweeter than sugar and totally natural. Friends, you want this in your life. Especially if it’s only $3 at a farmers market. And holy hell is it sweeter than sugar! I’m glad I knew this in advance. I used about 1/3tsp and it was still too much! My full fat whole milk yogurt mixed with fresh strawberries and bananas tasted like ice cream! ::droolandmelt:: Delicious.

I offered some to House Manager extraordinaire Kate and she liked it so I told her I would bring her some tomorrow. 🙂 That’s right. It’s Primal and its not bacon and people who don’t eat the Primal lifestyle still like it. Boom. I know I love it. So yogurt replaced cookies in cheering me up when I botched my AHM duties of seating guests when the HM couldn’t. I’ll get it next time. Sorry Kate, but thanks for being nice about it. By the way, I win. No cookies tonight. Woo!

MENU

  • BRUNCH: 3 eggs scrambled, 2 sausage links
  • SNACK: Banana
  • DINNER: Coconut lime chicken
  • SNACK: Strawberry banana yogurt
Leave a Reply

