On Today’s Menu: August 11, 2013

I had a two hour text conversation with my brother today. It was awesome! When I lived in NJ I would sit in his room while he was playing games or surfing the web or doing who know what and we would have the most random conversations about liberty and Primal eating and true love and theorizing a better world. And we got the most epic quotes from our conversations. Boy, I miss that. I’m dedicating one day of my week back in NJ in September to random conversation with my brother.

Work. Was. Hell. I mean, it wasn’t actually THAT bad, but somehow we were oversold by like 15 seats! I spent the entire time stressing that I had screwed something up because I did take a lot of orders for Sunday, but I only ever took orders for shows that had availability. I sold the last few seats at the door and that was it. I don’t know how the numbers ended up so off. I just could not shake the feeling that I messed up. So I suppressed a panic attack while trying to take orders for more seats as other seats were donated back because people couldn’t make it to the show. I couldn’t get Tessitura to see that so I was just at a complete loss and tried to smile the whole time. It’s the little things I don’t realize I don’t know until I absolutely need them. Then I tried to fix the mess upstairs to little avail. Then I tried to tell Rykie what was still messed up and was forgetting the names of the patrons that needed the help. Oh Brenna. Get your life together.

I got home and futzed around on the computer before deciding it was cannibalized (no bread/cheese) fast food and movie night! I used some Wendy’s coupons, came home and watched Shutter Island and Akeelah and the Bee til 2am. Good movies. I heard a lot of bad reviews of Shutter Island and it was already spoiled for me, but I still found it interesting how the story played out to reach that conclusion. And the end still left you with that sad, eerie feeling as a psychological thriller ought to. Then I watched little Keke Palmer so I wouldn’t have nightmares about being trapped in an insane asylum. The movie was predictably cute. 🙂 I want to read good essays and I want to read Nathaniel Hawthorne. Classic literature shouldn’t have the taint of school and thus be barred from my life.

Fun evening after a hellish afternoon. You go girl! Treat yourself!

MENU

  • LUNCH: Creamy eggs and crockpot chicken
  • SNACK: LaraBar
  • DINNER: Wendy’s burger with medium fries and a sprite, and an apple pecan chicken salad. (Let me just state that in no way do I condone going to fast food places and ordering salads on a regular basis as if that’s “healthy”. You may as well eat a tub of high fructose corn syrup and I KNOW you wouldn’t do that.)
Leave a Reply

