On Today’s Menu: September 19, 2013

I have been dating a super rad guy for two and a half years today. If I can be honest with a touch of schmoop for one moment, I never really thought I’d be dating any guy at all let alone for two and a half years! But that’s an old me. She and I don’t really talk anymore. We lost touch over the years as our lives went separate ways. I got friends and new interests and snagged me a working man with big dreams and a big heart. I won’t go into too much detail so as not to ruin his reputation as a sarcastic asshole, but he’s pretty wonderful. Point is, I have been dating a super rad guy for two and a half years today. πŸ˜€

I knew it was going to be a good day when I woke up with the sun. I felt so refreshed and wonderful as I went about some morning tasks. Even little snags like realizing flies, not ants, were the vermin I should’ve worried about when I didn’t change the barely used garbage before vacation, I was never angry or upset or pouty. I just felt really good. As I was walking up to the dumpster as my 15 minutes of sunshine today I had an odd realization. I mentioned it on Facebook, but it was something I really wanted to say here. I got such a weird sense like I never even left Georgia. I was walking up to the dumpster after cooking breakfast and watching TV just like I always did since I moved. I got home yesterday around 5:30pm, started putting things away and making a list of what chores needed to be done. I Skyped with the boyfriend and then went to bed. I slipped right back into routine. I seriously had to stop for a minute and remember what I did for the last two weeks to be certain they happened. For all I know, I could’ve fallen into the Twilight Zone!

Even when I was in NJ, I had fallen right into my old routine. I think that’s why it suddenly hit me so hard as I was leaving the boyfriend’s house Tuesday afternoon. It was like a sudden realization that my routine was about to break — I wouldn’t see him for months after I drove away that one last time in a manner so similar to every other time I drove away but was back a day later. I guess my brain’s way of helping me cope is to latch itself to a new routine to numb the pain. I miss my mom and dad and friends and all and I’m so glad I could see some of them while I was up there. On the other hand I also missed being in my own place. I’m in a very interesting position right now…but I am terribly excited for November when I get to see my loved ones without leaving my apartment! Yay bi-monthly trade off visits!

I registered for 4 of 5 burlesque classes today at the Atlanta School of Burlesque! I was inspired by relighting my passion for Primal with the start of the 2013 Primal Blueprint Challenge on MDA. (Go check it out and take charge of your health!) I want to get more active as I get control of my health again and I want to do new things. This is the perfect combination of the two! And maybe my vanity will be happy to help me along if I want to look really nice as I dance out of my clothes. πŸ˜‰ I need to take 4 beginner classes before I can register for the Performance Track. I’m still not sure that I want to commit myself to a performance, but I’ll see how I feel after a couple of classes. First class is Saturday morning with Katherine Lashe! Then Monday with Taloolah Love! Then with her again on Wednesday, and Thursday with Ursula Undress! I’m so psyched to get fit and a little sexy! Weeeeee!

I had a really easy shift to reacquaint myself with Horizon. Most of the patrons were subscribers who already had their tickets. No real messy business. Everyone got in. It was nice. Too bad it was my first and only shift for the week. And my next shift isn’t until next Saturday. But that does give me plenty of time for my burlesque classes! And a trip to the Farmer’s Market tomorrow! I’m excited to fall in love with spaghetti squash and melted butter. IT TASTES JUST LIKE ANGEL HAIR PASTA! YOU ARE BACK IN MY LIFE, “PASTA”! I’m also excited to discover some new greens other than spinach and make a huge salad to last me a few weeks. I’m really just super excited to be back on the healthy track! I won’t lie, I was a little scared straight today after some sad news. But whatever the reason, this is a personal journey for me (that I’m sharing publicly to both document it AND have the universe hold me accountable) and the victories will be more satisfying than the sweets.

P.S. – I turned down a cookie from the theatre biotches!!

MENU

  • BREAKFAST: Sausage 4 egg omelet – it fell apart, but it was still yummy
  • SNACK: Fruit bowl – strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries
  • SNACK: Frudge
Leave a Reply

