On Today’s Menu: September 24, 2013

I would say that despite not leaving the apartment, I had a pretty productive day. I stuck some unruly dishes into the dishwasher for the first time in…a month? I think I did a load before leaving for NJ. That cleared room so I could make myself a Primal Shake for a breakfast snack. Blueberries and strawberries. Yum! And cinnamon of course to cut the fructose absorption. I. LOVE. CINNAMON.

Then I hit the web for some life research…and hoping to win some paleo giveaways on Facebook. I never do. Anyway, despite the very affordable price of my apartment, I live in one of the richest counties in Georgia. I also learned that Atlanta is in fact split between Dekalb and Fulton counties. Still can’t tell you anything about any government officials around here. Still don’t give a damn. πŸ™‚

I also called my dad for some further insight. My daddy is very wise. And a good listener to his daughter’s ranting. We had a nearly hour long conversation about budgets and different options I could take during and after the course of my stay in Georgia on my current lease. What making a certain amount of money could let me comfortably afford. I was relaying this information to the boyfriend later on in the evening and realized that if those were really the only things we talked about, I must have done a LOT of repeating myself or just venting this concern and that concern and what if this or maybe that. Oh dad. You are patient and kind. Thank you!

Could I have been more productive with my day spent in? Oh absolutely. However, I’m still conquering laziness. Don’t try to tell me you don’t have your own battles to face. Everyone does. Mine just leads to a sink full of dishes and clothes folded up (neatly!) in suitcases from a trip about a week ago. No shame. It’s not like I live in a sty. They’re just dishes and suitcases. And the dishes should pile up much less frequently upon acquiring a new job because I will be able to afford to be a little more prolific about my utilities. …is that the word I want? Prolific?

You know what I mean.

Unfortunately, acquiring a new job may also mean wanting to buy Primal friendly treats…or not Primal friendly treats. (I realize I use Primal and paleo interchangeably. I still haven’t figured out the difference other than paleo people tend to use honey more often.) But I’m determined to turn my nose up at temptations like anything that isn’t Primal. I have a new resolve after watching half of a documentary called Way Beyond Weight about Brazilian children who are overweight and obese. The scariest point that the documentary made was that when you leave your child home with the TV while you go, say, grocery shopping, you’re basically leaving your child alone under the influence of a salesman who is determined to get you to buy his product. That’s terrifying. So I’m aiming to set a good example for a healthy, happy life. My kid is coming shopping with me and we’ll play a game of finding food from every color of the rainbow. I’m not at all dissatisfied by the food I eat. That’s the beauty of cooking your own food! Eat what tastes good! But will a child really follow the example when so many others are trying to set a different example: eat what comes in a cardboard box with your favorite cartoon characters on it?

Scary stuff.

…but hey! The Devils won! #isitOctoberyet That much my kid better take to heart. πŸ˜‰

MENU

  • BREAKFAST: Primal Shake
  • LUNCH: Baked chicken with roasted broccoli
  • DINNER: Spaghetti squash with tomato sauce and roasted sweet potatoes
Leave a Reply

