On Today’s Menu: November 9, 2013

I’m so glad I got gas yesterday. 🙂 Much happier drive this morning. It’s Saturday which means it’s drive to work weekend. I was only a minute late because I accidentally left a few minutes after I wanted to. Got caught up trying to make sweet potato hashbrowns. They outsides were really good. They were charred in the pan and tasted just like white potato hashbrowns. I had to put them back in the pan to get the inside cooked through. I love sweet potatoes, but I don’t want to eat raw sweet potato.

Of course today the wonderfully sweet man who spends most of his time directing traffic in the parking lot brought us oreos, a bag of chocolate nuggets, and popcorn. Good thing I brought grapes! …and still ate junk. Oh chocolate. I wish I could quit you. But I got a membership today! That’s five! Half way there! …and then the woman called back two minutes later and canceled it. :-/ That didn’t ruin my day thought. I had a really good day. A little slow. I was at the membership desk in the atrium next to the museum desk with Megan. That was fine. I was still on the clock til 3 so I don’t care what I need to do. I just want to be helpful. The oreos were not helpful to my chest. I felt the burning like it wanted to be heartburn, but I wasn’t horizontal and trying to be cozy in my bed so it didn’t want to bother with full on heartburn. And yet I still took another cookie before I left. I have a real problem.

When I got home to start my weekend and stare at my every shrinking budget was when my day got all poopy. I’d feel better if I were making money from Horizon on top of Puppetry, but that won’t start til the last week of November. I knew this, but living through it is much more frustrating than planning for the inevitable. I have what to eat–not really in terms of sides because I messed up with that one again, but definitely entrees–I’m just lazy sometimes. I’m only human. I don’t always feel like cooking. I especially don’t feel like cooking when half of my dishes are dirty and I don’t feel like scrubbing at them. I used my dishwasher today. I thought it worked. But some of those pans and one of my bowls was barely touched by the detergent. Uuuuuggghhhh!!

And the universe seems to be ignoring my hatred for Zach Parise. I. HATE. HIM. Which means the Wild are going to win the Cup this year. The Devils certainly won’t unless they get their act together. I’m mad at my own team. They lost 4-0 to the Wild. The ONLY game I demanded that they win. The ONLY ONE. And they were shut out hard. GAH!

So I ended up just feeling bleh for the rest of the day. But I got to skype the boyfriend. That’s always nice. And I get to see him in less than 2 weeks. That’s even nicer. But it looks like tonight is a huff and puff night. At least I made myself cook. I was feeling so lazy, I was ready to disregard my budget and just go to the nearest drive-thru. That would’ve been LJS, but they take FOREVER with their damn food. It’s not a sit down restaurant when I’m in the drive-thru. If you can’t keep up, you need not claim to have a drive-thru. But I cooked four burgers, two are left for another day, and I’m out of prepared sides.

I need to look into getting a full-time job. Not for the benefits. I don’t really care about that right now. I just really need the money. The biggest thing that put me off tonight is the fact that it suddenly seems like reality that I may not be able to afford to stay in Georgia. If I go back to NJ, I want it to be my choice. I don’t want to be forced back. Otherwise I won’t feel like I’ve accomplished what I set out to accomplish. Whatever that is exactly.

MENU

  • BREAKFAST: Scrambled eggs, sweet potato hashbrowns
  • SNACK: Oreos, assorted chocolate nuggets, grapes, rice crackers
  • DINNER: Burgers, roasted sweet potatoes
Leave a Reply

