Cauliflower Tater Tots

Krispy Kreme Klan
Krispy Kreme Klan

Guys, the struggle is real. My job is spectacular because people bring us goodies like chocolate and cake and doughnuts. Unfortunately these particular goodies make my stomach clench and my chest ache. I drank a couple sips of a co-worker’s smoothie that had spinach, broccoli, celery, peanut butter, fat-free yogurt, and bananas. Immediate heachache, stomach pains, and pre-indigestion burn. Whoa, my body works fast. But I turned down the sweet doughy death and didn’t even need my chef’s salad or guacamole and carrot sticks. Third work day in a row I wasn’t hungry at work. Boom. IF. Overwhelmed with joy, I was all the more gung-ho to treat myself to the tots I was planning to make for this week’s food prep.

Is there a better side dish than tater tots? I hardily claim, “Nay, good sir! Nay indeed!” In fact, if I order a burger, I’ll much more easily turn down fries (that will inevitably come with the burger) than I could if tots come with the burger. Unless it’s curly fries. I do love me some curly fries. It’s on the list of projects. I need a slicer or to figure out my mandolin.

Holy Guacamole! From The Vortex. There were tot survivors.
Holy Guacamole! From The Vortex. There were tot survivors.
All that remains of that plate. It's all about give and take, folks.
All that remains of that plate. It’s all about give and take, folks.

The Vortex Bar and Grill has some spectacular tots. Battle and Brew in Marietta has some pretty phenomenal tots to go with their rockin’ shots. And now. . .Brenna. Has. Tots.

Seriously though, what could be better than being able to eat as many tots as you want in a sitting? And paired with the grass fed rib eye I splurged on at the Farmer’s Market, my meal was literally a dream come true. That’s how you treat yourself, folks. Not the ice cream and cake. MEAT AND TOTS!

Shots and tots, baby! . . .there were no survivors.
Battle and Brew shots and tots, baby! . . .there were no survivors.

Featured Recipe: Cauliflower Tater Tots

Okay, so that’s 3/3 by Lauren at Empowered Sustenance. It’s yet another recipe I could make any time. It’ll be easier once I get my food processor for my birthday. Yes, I know what one of my birthday presents will be. Because screw surprises! . . .sometimes. . .

Are these exactly the same as tater tots? No. I haven’t captured that complete crisp feeling or the same look. But everything else: taste, crunch on the outside and tender on the inside, gorgeously salty, ZERO GUILT. This is definitely a favorite discovery of mine! I hope everyone embraces this new dietary staple.

“But Brenna! Where’s the vegetable on that plate?

Veggies in TOT FORM! WELCOME TO THE FUTURE!

Paired with grass fed rib-eye I splurged on at the market. I might have found God. True story.
I might have found God. True story.

 

Leave a Reply

