21 Day Sugar Detox: Green Sliders

I perked myself up at one point looking at what the boyfriend and I would be doing when he gets here IN ONE MONTH!!!
I perked myself up at one point looking at what the boyfriend and I would be doing when he gets here IN ONE MONTH!!!

The day after my last post started a terrible week for my road to health. I didn’t cook at all on Wednesday and Thursday without taking into account that I’d be working day and evening on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday! What did I eat? Chinese food. And lots of it. Too much of it. I’m actually pretty ashamed of myself. I felt awful mentally and physically. Aches and pains. Overwhelming negative emotions. It even got me thinking I ought to move back to NJ purely from loneliness and guilt. These are symptoms I face when I screw around with the chemicals in my brain.

So I kind of love my job and my co-workers. n__n The heartburn is my fault. Cookouts are benevolent.
So I kind of love my job and my co-workers. n__n The heartburn is my fault. Cookouts are benevolent.

When I let myself sit on the edge of heartburn all day at our cookout at work, when I let myself buy out of my budget just to taste crappy sugary glazed doughy crap, I found my rock bottom for this spiral. Monday I ended it and decided to make a pact with myself to do a 21 day sugar detox. I had already resolved to do the cooking I put off and it just happened to be an acceptable meal for the 21DSD. Then I made another recipe with the three pounds of chicken that I had from a while back. That recipe was specifically from a Pinterest Board for the 21DSD. I’d say I’m off to a good start! Best part, there are still sweets I can have that are 21DSD friendly! The plan is to go a week and make a treat. I have my eye on something delightfully chocolatey for next Tuesday night to kick off my weekend!

But hey, if it works the way I hope it will, maybe I won’t need/want the treat by the end of the week. 😉 By the way, victory for me: instead of snacking during my Skype date with the boyfriend the other night, I had a cup of tea. As my brother says, “We don’t see all the options we have.” Time to start seeing them.

Featured Recipe: Green Sliders – Nom Nom Paleo

Caramelized onions made a triumphant return to my life and my burgers. Welcome home!
Caramelized onions made a triumphant return to my burger life. Welcome home!

Nom Nom Paleo takes the (sugar-free, grain free, soy free, dairy free) cake! I feel like so many of my recipes come from her! I modified the recipe for lack of some ingredients and to use fewer tools so there would be fewer dishes. There were still a lot of dishes to be washed by the end of the day. Basically instead of going step by step through her beautiful recipe, I made sliders with spinach, mushrooms, and onions. Spinach qualifies them as “green” sliders, right? I also topped them with caramelized onions. Oh man. I missed caramelized onions in my life. Prepping onions is my least favorite thing, but the results can be so very rewarding.

 

Featured Recipe: Pan Roasted Lemon Chicken – Damn Delicious

Crispity crunchity lemony goodness!
Crispity crunchity lemony goodness!

[EDIT: I found the picture I was certain I took!!] I was a little worried about this one. My unrefined taste buds surely can’t yet fully appreciate lemon and lemon zest. It seems like such a common thing for chicken which I feared would make me bored of this recipe immediately. Chicken and I don’t always play nicely together. Also, not all of the pieces fit in my biggest pan! But I seared the chicken in two batches and then made them all fit to go into the oven. I fell in love with the lemon rub. It’s going on a steak soon.

So far, so good! Wish me luck! And don’t put junk in my face please. n__n

Instead of the chicken, here's another Nom Nom Paleo recipe I made: roasted brussels sprouts with bacon. A little greasy, but then again. . .bacon.
Instead of the chicken, here’s Nom Nom Paleo’s roasted brussels sprouts I made. Bacon.
Leave a Reply

