Con High, Con Drop, and Catch Up

I’ve not posted since before Play On Con so there’s a bit of catching up to do. I’ll do my best to keep it brief. I hate long posts. You’re also welcome to skip straight to the FEATURED RECIPE. It’s a good one! ONWARD! So the 21 DSD sorta crashed that last week. I admit my feelings got the best of me as the convention drew near. I felt such anguish about being alone despite that I knew I wouldn’t be alone for much longer. My brain told me to start vacation early. Bad idea since my budget was already depleted. But I have the greatest man in my life who loves me and paid for our dinners in Atlanta when he got here and offered to pay for any snacks we wanted to bring on the trip. I fought the cravings then. He even bought our Waffle House breakfast in the morning (I had an omelet). It doesn’t seem like much, but it meant the world to me. I love that man.

It's a me--Mario! Watch out for that photo bob-omb!
It’s a me–Mario! Watch out for that photo bob-omb!
Link--has come to POC--to saaaaaave--summer vacation!
Link–has come to POC–to saaaaaave–summer vacation!

But I digress, the convention was AMAZEBALLS!!!!!!!!!!! I felt like I did so much and so little at the same time, but I know I did more than ever! I went to panels and tournaments and participated in the costume contest. I’ll work on my speaking for next year so I can win! We learned a few new games (that the boyfriend immediately purchased online) and we went to Iron Bartender as VIPs (and that was the only hard liquor I had all weekend!) and met some cool new people on top of seeing all of our old friends! The best part for me probably, and I swear my excitement is genuine, was that my brother went and had the time of his life! I wonder if that’s part of the feeling like I didn’t do much. I was really wrapped up in how much fun he was having. Of course I did my own thing when I wanted to and met with the guys later, but if the three of us could do events together, we did. And we had so much freaking fun! MY BROTHER WON THE ULTIMATE GAMER COMPETITION!!!!!!!!! He’s got a crown and trophy to prove it! We also pooled together our POC marks (the ones we didn’t give to our POC president candidate) and bought a copy of the RPG Monsters and Other Childish Things. I’m gonna be a GM! It’s like DnD but with children and their imaginary friend monsters that fight each other and cause trouble. I couldn’t put the book down since I got it!

The trio of destiny power of the goddess epic journeying force [insert cliche here]
The trio of destiny power of the goddess epic journeying force [insert cliche here]
I made a distinct choice about my eating that weekend. I chose to accept the crappy food so as to face just one vice at a time. I had two choices: 1. Get drunk AND inevitably eat crappy food based on lack of inhibition or 2. stay sober and make the conscious decision to eat crappy food instead as I craved snacks and sugary things with the limited options at POC. So it was a successful weekend in my eyes and I hopped right back into my regular schedule the day after the boyfriend left. Also got a workout at the Atlanta School of Burlesque with a workshop that kicked my butt! Let me tell you, it hurt to YAWN.

Okay, 4th of July could've been better.
Okay, 4th of July at my friend’s house could’ve been better.

So yeah. Now I’m back in the daily grind. I survived my first week back at work. I’m staving off con drop, but it has moments where it beats me. I also have a picture that never fails to make me smile as it sums up our entire weekend. It’s my favorite picture in the world right now. I’m so thrilled my brother and boyfriend get along so well. Are they in each other’s tribes necessarily? Meh. But buddies can still be buddies as far as I’m concerned. He even had game night with my friends. I’m only a little jealous. 😛

What’s next for me? Well my monthly budget just improved dramatically since changing my cable package and I’m now ready to add a bit to my groceries budget. Now I just need to conquer my laziness so I can cook enough food to get through each week and not have food sitting around and still have nothing to eat. Curse this laziness! I need to make it to my birthday. That’s the first break from monotony. My mom is coming down to see me! I’ll see her on my actual birthday!! Then two weeks later I’m off to NJ for a week! I don’t want to think about what happens after that. The long wasteland of nothing planned for visits until New Years.

Welcome home, "noodles".
Welcome home, “noodles”.

So I wont! Instead, here’s my first go with my absolutely spectacular spiral slicer! Squash noodles!!

Which also leads us nicely into our. . .

Featured  Recipe: Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

20140710_161442 This is one of the most fascinating recipes I’ve played with 1. because I got to use my spiral slicer on a couple of yellow squashes and 2. the science of thickeners is just astounding to me. I should’ve stuck to the recipe as described for my first time. I added the ingredients, turned the heat on, and waited for it to thicken. It didn’t immediately thicken so silly me added more starch. Then when it did thicken, it reached the consistency of chunky gelatin. Whoa! So I added the squash and hoped for the best. Again it didn’t immediately do what I expected and I got scared so I added about 1/4 C water. Finally it thinned out just as the author said it would because of the water content of squash. Mine has the consistency of clam chowder. Next time I’ll trust the recipe. But doesn’t it look pretty??

Now here’s a picture of me going to a burlesque show and being social once again!

Oh hai thar. I'm wearing lipstick. ;-)
Oh hai thar. I’m wearing lipstick. 😉

Grok on, brothers and sisters!

Leave a Reply

