Happy October – Pumpkin Cream Chicken Casserole

How many times have I said, “Every day is a new day to start over”? Well y’know what? I will keep saying it because it’s true! Over the weekend, the real weekend, I had a bit of a wake up call. 3 weeks of fairly consistent binging on straight SAD style sugary sweets left my body reeling. It was pretty excessive. Before I started with Primal eating, I allowed myself these treats on occasion or so I thought. I never thought twice about it. As I think on it now, it was much more often than I first considered. Every dine out meal came with dessert. Every break at school came with a trip to the vending machine. Every outing with friends came with some snacks and sweets. Now that I follow Clean Eating, when I break down as addicts will do sometimes, I binge and eat like a week’s worth of junk in a night. At least twice or thrice a week. Yeah. It’s bad. And it hurts.

There comes a time where you have to say, “Enough is enough.” I don’t know if this is that time, but I am 6 days into a new clean streak. I’ve told myself I’m allergic to the Primal/Paleo no-nos: grain, processed sugar, soy, legumes, and bad dairy. “I’m allergic!” is the be all-end all whenever I catch myself thinking obsessively about sweets. It’s not far off. I am definitely intolerant of these things. The word allergic has a scary connotation and it worked to snap me back to reality and move along. I’m willing to take those measures to create better habits for myself. When I can trust my logical brain, I’ll adjust my wording.

Only the good stuff in these bad boys.
Only the good stuff in these bad boys.

I finished off last week’s food, which was partially food from the week before that wasn’t used on days I ate crappy junk. I got through Monday and Tuesday on organic tomato soup and Applegate beef franks. That’s all Kroger had for me. Of course silly me had to wander to the Manager’s Special rack. Bad idea, but I survived the encounter. To kick off my weekend, I made myself totally clean chocolate chip cookies with Sunbutter and Green & Black chocolate pieces. Weekends are worth treats. I modified the recipe since I didn’t have Macademia nut butter or chocolate chips. The universe might break if I ate these made with Macademia nut butter.

What else is on the menu this weekend? Maybe some empanadas. Maybe some salmon cakes. And how about a way to make chicken bearable again? A POX ON YOU CHICKEN!!

Featured Recipe: Pumpkin Cream Chicken Casserole

Punkin' Chunkin'. . .into my mouth!
Punkin’ Chunkin’. . .into my mouth!

This recipe reminded me of the Pumpkin Chicken Thighs recipe I made a while back. Since October is here and autumn can no longer be denied, I figured it was time to cheer myself up with some pumpkin goodness. I love me some punkin’! I used zucchini noodles instead of spaghetti squash and I think it works fine as a substitute. I just needed to use the third zucchini to have enough to really create a “crust” on the bottom of the casserole. It would also help if my oven had a broiler. A nice browning on top would’ve been awesome! I had more roasted cauliflower than anything else, but it makes a nice middle layer. This is an easy to cook and layer recipe and a great way to heat the apartment in the fall and winter.

 

Leave a Reply

