Achievement unlocked: Single Digit

I’ve reached an exciting milestone in this Primal journal yesterday.

So for the last month and a half I’ve literally been wearing the same two pairs of pants every other day for work because I had already lost enough weight and inches that my other black dress pants from student teaching and prior were too big. One pair is from a friend who bought a size 10 short from Charlotte Rousse (sp??) but they didn’t fit her and she thought they’d fit me. They didn’t until I went Primal. The other is a pair that has a broken clasp and the inner button is literally hanging on by a thread, but I wasn’t as scared to wear them after losing some inches cos my belly wasn’t pressing into the waistband and putting pressure on the button. So those were my go-to pants.

I also haven’t worn a pair of jeans in the last month or so because I was working on a stage production backstage and needed to be in black. My only blacks are mainly sweatpants with one pair of black jeans that were always tighter than my other jeans. Now they fit comfortably.

So it was exciting when I would sporadically have a moment to go out and I could grab a pair of my size 12 jeans and leave. They were a bit loose on me though. Here’s the fun part: Yesterday I wanted to wear a darker wash jean, and I have a few pairs. They’re the giveaways from my mom and grandmother (grandma has amazing fashion sense, but is also thinner than me). I grabbed my dark wash jeans, slipped into them, buttoned them up, and BOOM! They FIT! And you know what size they are?

SIZE 8! ::fanfare and fireworks and confetti cannons::

I have never bought size 8 clothing in all of my life. I can’t recall since starting elementary school that I’ve even bought single digit clothing. Ever! So after having the weight (no pun intended) of being the fat girl my whole life, this is a huge milestone for me that I just had to put into words somehow. I’ve never been so proud of myself for conquering mental and physical obstacles. I’ve never been so thrilled to see myself. I’ve never felt so beautiful!

Now don’t get me wrong. I never judge beauty solely on one’s outer appearance. This isn’t a lecture on skinny = beautiful. I’m much too grown for that high school nonsense.  The point here is that I’ve reached a personal goal for myself. The obvious weight loss is something I wanted to achieve and I did. And I will keep aspiring to be healthier whether I get thinner or not. I certainly plan on toning up, but I don’t think I’ll ever truly feel “ugly” anymore. I’m comfortable in my own skin and I love it! I wish for everyone to feel this same overwhelming joy. I’m always glad to hear that other people are following the paleo/primal diet. A friend commented on my Facebook post about this that she knew people who were doing it. And then after posting it, my other friend texted me and said she was gonna give it a try. I love spreading the good word on health!

(Now I just have to figure out how to get the boyfriend to join me. The primal chocolate cake didn’t entice him…but I didn’t expect it to. I think I’m bugging him so I need to quell my excitement so I don’t talk too much about it. Haha! He’ll come around in his own time if he does. I just want him to be happy and healthy and share in my successes and happiness. I guess that’s what you do when you love someone. Teehee. 😉 ) Grok on!